Digital Painting «Wings»

Happy Saturday everyone! Today I have a digital painting called «Wings» or «Demons Wings». For this one I played with stone textures and I think it turned out looking great. Also have the youtube video for this so don’t forget to check it out –>SpeedPaint – Demon Statue + Stone Wall.

The idea for this painting came when I was sketching randomly in one of my sketchbooks and I really liked so I made sure to remember about it so I could work on it later. After some time, I started defining the sketch and the linework but then put it aside for about two weeks. Since I really liked it and didn’t have anything to draw I retook the drawing, finished the linework and started coloring. For this one, the coloring was very relaxing to do and so I had a great time.

As for the background, it took a lot of time to get it done because I was never completly sure if it was complete or if it missed something. At the end I had to force myself to remember that working on a painting can be done eternally and that it was me who should to decide when put an «it’s finished». If you watch the video you will see how I did the wall, that was basically done using basic straight lines for the structure and the did three layers of shading so the stones would look a bit more realistic. And finally, I put lights and shades all over the drawing to give a clearer idea of where the statue might be placed.

wings-net

Escribir una leyenda

And that’s all for this painting, hope you liked. I think the statue itself needs some more contrast in the shading but overall it’s a good piece of work and I have the opportunity to do it better the next time. Thank you for reading and see you next time ! 🙂

Deja un comentario